Artist in Residence

Jad Atoui

«Z4 Studio
Residency»
Jad Atoui

From 24 November to 4 Dezember the soundartist and performer Jad Atoui will come to Zurich as the first holder of the «Z4 Studio Residency» at Zeughaus 4. Here he will work on further developing his installation «Vibrant Pools», which explores the multisensory experience of sound.



On Tuesday, 28 November 2023 at 7 p. m. in Zeughaus 4 / IFMZ, Zeughausstrasse 56, 8004 Zurich
Jad will give an insight into his work and a preview on his contributions to SONIC MATTER Festival 2023. Following the presentation we invite you to an aperitif on site.

The «Z4 Studio Residency» is a cooperation of IFMZ – Initiative Freie Musikszene Zürich with SONIC MATTER – Platform for Experimental Music and OTO Sound Museum.

About Jad Atoui

Jad Atoui is a Beirut-based sound artist and improviser whose work spans through live performance, compositions, installations, and workshops. He composes and performs electronic and electro-acoustic music. Jad has performed with musicians like John Zorn, Pauline Oliveros, Laurie Anderson, Chuck Bettis, Tarek Atoui and Anthony Sahyoun. He has also given and co-directed workshops at Marfa Sounding, Ashkal Alwan and Beirut Synth Center. His commissioned work folio includes residencies at The Stone (NYC), The National Sawdust (NYC), Beirut Art Center, Arab Image foundation and The Sharjah Art Foundation.

During his formative years in New York, Atoui found interest in the New York avant-garde scene while working closely with NYC downtown musicians, learning improvised music techniques; along with working at The Stone and The Guggenheim museum.

In 2015, Atoui spearheaded the «Biosonics» project in collaboration with scientist Ivan Marazzi in order to incorporate bio-sonification of behaviors as compositional tools. The project was later published in John Zorn’s «Arcana Book Vol. XVIII» and premiered at The National Sawdust as part of The Stone’s commissioning series.

Jad's currently working with artist and musician Anthony Sahyoun on their Duo NP. They released their first album «Lattices» under Ruptured Label. Recent musical ventures also include joining Kinematik's «Ensemble 1: Al Jadi».


Jad Atoui at SONIC MATTER Festival 2023

About «Purge»

Jad Atoui, Performance «Purge» © Kira Kynd
Jad Atoui, Performance «Purge» © Kira Kynd

Solo live performance

Jad Atoui will be performing «Purge», a solo piece that reflects on his recent experimentations with modular synth, waves of galactic pads driven by distorted rhythmic bass and energetic noise.

About «Vibrant Pools»

Installation «Vibrant Pools» © Kira Kynd

Installation «Vibrant Pools» © Kira Kynd

«Vibrant Pools» is an installation that delves into the realm of acoustic resonance, focusing on the transformative power of sound when interacting with various objects through iterative recording and playback.

At the core of this installation lies the idea of immersing different objects, brass, glass and iron vases in particular, in the acoustic ambiance of a room and allowing their unique resonant frequencies to unfold. Each object contributes its distinctive character to the sonic tapestry of the room.

Borrowing from Alvin Lucier’s pioneering work around natural acoustics and their relation to space, the piece commences with gentle and atonal sounds transduced into objects, gradually introducing the listener to the subtle vibrations and harmonics hidden within these objects. As the iterative recording and playback process progresses, the sonic landscape begins to form dynamically. The interplay of resonances, overtones, and reverberations creates a rich mosaic of sound, resonating with the soul of the room.

Through the cyclical process of recording and playback, the objects' sonic personalities become more pronounced and vibrant, as if they are engaging in a symphony of their own conduction. The transformation is organic, with the room itself becoming an active participant in this sonic transfiguration, and a witness to the subtle musicality that surrounds objects daily.

«Vibrant Pools» is an embodied research into the life of objects and the poetics of space; it is a foray into their ontology and its relation to human subjectivity.

Artist in Residence

Jad Atoui 1 The Ballroom blitz 1st Boiler Room 22 of 120

«Z4 Studio
Residency»
Jad Atoui

Vom 24. November bis 4. Dezember wird der Klangkünstler und Performer Jad Atoui als erster Resident der «Z4 Studio Residency» im Zeughaus 4 an der Weiterentwicklung seiner interaktiven Installation «Vibrant Pools» arbeiten, die das multisensorische Erleben von Klang erforscht.

Am Dienstag, 28. November 2023 ab 19 Uhr
im Zeughaus 4 / IFMZ, Zeughausstrasse 56, 8004 Zürich
gibt Jad Atoui Einblick in seine Arbeit und einen Ausblick auf das SONIC MATTER Festival, bei dem er in diesem Jahr mehrfach vertreten sein wird. Anschliessend laden wir ein zum Apéro vor Ort.

Die «Z4 Studio Residency» ist eine Kooperation der IFMZ – Initiative Freie Musikszene Zürich mit SONIC MATTER – Plattform für experimentelle Musik und dem OTO Sound Museum.

Über Jad Atoui

Jad Atoui ist ein in Beirut lebender Klangkünstler und Improvisationsmusiker, dessen Aktivitäten von Konzerten über Kompositionen und Installationen bis hin zu Workshops reichen. Er komponiert und spielt elektronische und elektroakustische Musik und stand auf der Bühnen mit Musiker:innen wie John Zorn, Pauline Oliveros, Laurie Anderson, Chuck Bettis, Tarek Atoui und Anthony Sahyoun. Workshops hat er gegeben und mitgeleitet bei Marfa Sounding, Ashkal Alwan und im Beirut Synth Center. Er war Residenzkünstler im The Stone New York, dem The National Sawdust New York, dem Beirut Art Center, bei der Arab Image Foundation Beirut und der Sharjah Art Foundation.

Während Jahre in New York, die seine Arbeit nachhaltig prägten, entdeckte Atoui während engen Zusammenarbeiten mit den Musiker:innen der Stadt, sein Interesse an der New Yorker Avantgarde-Szene und Improvisationstechniken. Ausserdem arbeitete er im The Stone und im Guggenheim Museum.

2015 leitete Atoui in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Wissenschaftler Ivan Marazzi das Projekt «Biosonics», in dessen Rahmen Verhaltensbiosonifikation in ein Kompositionswerkzeug überführt wurde. Anschliessend wurde das Projekt in John Zorns «Arcana Book Vol. XVIII» veröffentlicht und als Teil der Auftragsreihe des The National Sawdust dort zur Uraufführung gebracht.

Derzeit arbeitet Atoui mit dem Künstler und Musiker Anthony Sahyoun als NP zusammen. «Lattice», das erste Album des Duos, ist beim Label Ruptured erschienen. Zu seinen jüngsten Veröffentlichungen zählt ausserdem Kinematiks «Ensemble 1: Al Jadi».

Jad Atoui
beim SONIC MATTER
Festival 2023

Über «Purge»

Jad Atoui, Performance «Purge» © Kira Kynd
Jad Atoui, Performance «Purge» © Kira Kynd

Live-Solo-Performance

In seinem Solostück «Purge» verarbeitet Jad Atoui seine jüngsten Experimente mit Modularsynthesizern – Wellen von Galactic Pads, die von verzerrten rhythmischen Bässen und energiegeladenem Noise getrieben werden.

Über «Vibrant Pools»

Installation «Vibrant Pools» © Kira Kynd

Installation «Vibrant Pools» © Kira Kynd

Die Installation «Vibrant Pools» – auf Deutsch so viel wie «lebhafte Bäder» – lässt in das Reich akustischer Resonanz eintauchen. In Ihrem Zentrum steht die Wandlungsfähigkeit, die ein Klang entwickelt, wenn er durch mehrfache Aufnahme und Wiedergabe mit Gegenständen interagiert.

Dabei ist die Grundidee, verschiedene Objekte, wie Messing-, Glas- und Eisenvasen, in die akustische Umgebung eines Raumes zu stellen und ihre einzigartigen Frequenzen sich entfalten zu lassen. Jedes der Objekte fügt dieser «Klangtapete» seinen ganz besonderen Charakter hinzu.

In Anlehnung an Alvin Luciers bahnbrechende Arbeiten zur natürlichen Akustik und ihrer Beziehung zum Raum beginnt das Stück mit sanften und atonalen Klängen, die auf die Gegenstände übertragen werden. So werden die Zuhörenden erst ganz allmählich der subtilen Schwingungen und Obertöne gewahr, die in diesen Objekten verborgen liegen. Im Laufe dieses sich ständig wiederholenden Aufnahme- und Abspielprozesses beginnt sich die Klanglandschaft dynamisch zu formen. Aus dem Zwischenspiel von Resonanzen, Obertönen und Nachhall entsteht ein buntes Mosaik von Klängen, die die Seele des Raums zum Schwingen bringen.

In diesem Kreis von Aufnahme und Wiedergabe verstärken sich die klanglichen «Persönlichkeiten» der Gegenstände und werden so lebendig, als würden sie eine selbstdirigierte Symphonie spielen.

Through the cyclical process of recording and playback, the objects' sonic personalities become more pronounced and vibrant, as if they are engaging in a symphony of their own conduction. Die Verwandlung ist organisch. Der Raum selbst wird darin zu einem aktiv Beteiligten an dieser Klangwerwandlung und zu einem Zeugen der subtilen Musikalität, die die Objekte täglich umgibt.

«Vibrant Pools» ist das Ergebnis der Erforschung des Lebens von Objekten und der Poetik des Raums; es ist ein Streifzug durch ihre Ontologie und ihre Beziehung zur menschlichen Subjektivität.