16. & 17. Dec 2023
das geklaute gehör

Courtesy by the artists

Courtesy by the artists

2023 SONIC MATTER_radio commission
das geklaute gehör (the stolen hearing)
A Radio Feature by ensemble metanoia

Saturday, 16. December 2023, 07:30 until Sunday, 17. December 2023, 02:30 (CET)
Sunday, 17. December 2023, 07:30 until 23:59 Uhr (CET)

Ensemble metanoia engages with the true story of composer Mamoru Samuragochi through various formats and formations. For SONIC MATTER_radio, they have produced a radio feature that brings together research, intermediate products (Zwischenprodukte), and stage drama in the form of a radio soap in six episodes.

Mamoru Samuragochi is hailed as the "Japanese Beethoven," achieving great success despite being deaf, composing romantic music for tsunami victims or in remembrance of Hiroshima. However, his ghostwriter, Takashi Niigaki, eventually comes forward to the public...

In collaborative authorship, the ensemble delves into this drama and continues its narrative. What role does the one-armed violinist Miku Okubo play? The story satirizes myths surrounding artistic production. "The Stolen Hearing" counters this with a play of different voices and moods. What historical connections led to Beethoven's immense significance in Japan, and how does it relate to the atomic bomb?

The radio features meander between interviews, soap opera, soundscapes, and improvisations. Throughout, they remain attuned to the emotional techniques of the artists and the often intertwined authorship of the works.

Schedule soap

About ensemble metanoia

Made possible by the kind support of SRKS - Foundation for Radio and Culture Switzerland and Swissperform

blablabor in the BACK ROOM of SONIC MATTER_radio


Suddenly they tune in, the radio artists of blablabor in their ominous back room. If you're lucky, you micht catch them…

The back room is furnished with a worn sofa, a coffee machine (but who is actually responsible for disposing of the coffee grounds?) and newspapers from the last few weeks. blablabor listens to the radio, reads coffee grounds and bundles up old newspapers. In between, it moderates the radio programme. Sets measures, determines, moderates, guides, directs. That's how the definition of moderation wants it. With blablabor, this results in a cheerful play with one's own actions. Moderation becomes the subject of poetry, sound and play.

About blablabor

A commission of the SONIC MATTER Platform, supported by SRKS - Foundation for Radio and Culture Switzerland and SWISS PERFORM.

jingles and


2021 SONIC MATTER_radio commissioned artists Annette Schmucki and Reto Friedman of blablabor.

"jingles and signets" blablabor makes music out of the words sonic, matter and radio; small precise figures of word and sound. Jingles. Core and gestalt of SONIC MATTER_radio.

blablabor creates a collection of jingles and signets for SONIC MATTER_radio. These set themselves apart from the rest of SONIC MATTER_Radio's music program by being consistently based on language. The name 'SONIC MATTER_radio' serves as the linguistic basis; spoken, played or sung. Always in the air the recognizable same or similar sound. The small composed text shapes are distributed to the musicians of the blablembles, who translate them into sound, tone, rhythm, and send the recordings to blablabor. blablabor produces the jingles from the growing speech-musical material. Participating artists so far: Hartmut Andres, voice, blablabor, voice, Andrew Digby, trombone, Martin Lorenz, drum, Christoph Luchsinger, trumpet, Eva Nievergelt, voice, Lucas Rössner, bassoon, Daniel Studer, double bass, Stephan Wittwer, e-guitar.

Here you find more details about the individual jingles and signets