George Lewis

Lewis George
George Lewis
BiographyGeorge Lewis, Professor of American Music at Columbia University, Area Chair in Composition and member of the faculty in Historical Musicology, is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy. Lewis’s other honors include a MacArthur Fellowship (2002), a Guggenheim Fellowship (2015), and the Doris Duke Artist Award (2019). A member of the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) since 1971, Lewis's work in electronic and computer music, computer-based multimedia installations, and notated and improvisative forms is documented on more than 150 recordings. His work has been presented by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble Dal Niente, Ensemble Intercontemporain, London Philharmonia Orchestra, International Contemporary Ensemble, Musikfabrik, Mivos Quartet, London Sinfonietta, Spektral Quartet, and others. He is the author of «A Power Stronger Than Itself: The AACM and American Experimental Music» (University of Chicago Press 2008), and co-editor of the two-volume «Oxford Handbook of Critical Improvisation Studies» (2016). An Honorary Member of the American Musicological Society, Lewis holds honorary doctorates from the University of Edinburgh, New College of Florida, and Harvard University. Lewis’s music is published by Edition Peters.
  1. Website Columbia University / Profil George Lewis
Photo Credit Eileen Barroso
go back