SONIC MATTER

The new Zurich platform SONIC MATTER is an invitation to go on a common journey of discovery, exploration and creation in the field of experimental music. This platform comprises a festival in Zurich that takes place each December, and an online forum that is active through the year. With SONIC MATTER, we would like to offer a space for urgent contemporary issues that can be negotiated jointly by artists and audiences over long periods of time.

Sound is at the heart of SONIC MATTER. It is our constant companion, shaping our environment in ways that can be either striking or enigmatic, and that contains within it a multi-layered content: from the critical to the sensual, the unifying to the energetic, the contemplative to the danceable.

SONIC MATTER is open to a broad public: Visitors can participate either as listeners or as partners in a dialogue, while amateur artists can also take part in projects that suit their particular talents.

SONIC MATTER exists as …

_OPENLAB as of April 2021


In 2021, the international research laboratory of SONIC MATTER will regularly bring together teams of scientists, scholars, artists and the local population from Switzerland, South America and North America. In 2021–2023, _openlab: THE WITNESS will turn its ears especially towards ecological and sociological topics and is a forum for the exchange of ideas that is open to
everyone who wants to participate.



_RADIO as of April 2021


SONIC MATTER_radio will run 24 hours a day, every day of the year. It will accompany the activities of SONIC ZURICH and SONIC WORLD and is an art radio at the same time. Besides live streams, interviews and music from SONIC-MATTER protagonists, it will present artistic work
developed especially for the medium of radio.



_FESTIVAL – from 2 December 2021


On 2-5 December 2021, the first-ever SONIC MATTER Festival will take place at different venues in Zurich. It will bring together artists from Zurich, other parts of Switzerland and the international arena for concerts, sound hikes, performances, exhibitions, lounges, club nights and dialogues. The first edition of SONIC MATTER will take place in collaboration with our guest festival, Novas Frequências from Rio de Janeiro.

  • Where can I find the programme for SONIC MATTER 2021? As of autumn 2021, in our Newsletter and at SONIC ZURICH
  • Where can I find information about the guest festival of SONIC MATTER 2021? SONIC WORLD

History

SONIC MATTER was founded in 2020 after a successful call to tender issued by the city of Zurich’s Cultural Department. During its pilot phase (lasting until 2023) it will receive annual financial support from the City President’s Office. It is the successor festival to the Zurich New Music Days – an institution founded in 1986 by the composers Thomas Kessler and Gérard Zinsstag that had a major impact on the city music scene for more than three decades.

SONIC MATTER

Die neue Zürcher Plattform SONIC MATTER ist eine Einladung, gemeinsam experimentelle Musik zu entdecken, zu erforschen und zu gestalten. Die Plattform besteht aus einem Festival in Zürich, das jeweils im Dezember stattfindet, und einem Online-Forum, das rund ums Jahr aktiv ist. Mit SONIC MATTER möchten wir einen Raum bieten für akute Fragestellungen der Gegenwart, die von Künstler*innen und Publikum gemeinsam über längere Zeiträume verhandelt werden.

Klang steht bei SONIC MATTER als ständiger Begleiter im Mittelpunkt, der mal markant, mal hintergründig unsere Umgebung prägt und vielschichtigen Gehalt in sich birgt: von kritisch bis sinnlich, verbindend bis energetisch, kontemplativ bis tanzbar.

SONIC MATTER steht einem breiten Publikum offen: Besucher*innen können genauso als Zuhörer*innen teilnehmen wie auch als Gesprächspartner*innen oder sich in gruppenspezifischen Projekten als Laienkünstler*innen einbringen.

SONIC MATTER gibt es als …

_OPENLAB – ab April 2021


Das internationale Forschungslabor von SONIC MATTER bringt 2021 Teams von Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen und lokaler Bevölkerung aus der Schweiz, Südamerika und Nordamerika regelmässig zusammen. Das _openlab: THE WITNESS richtet 2021–2023 die Ohren insbesondere auf ökologische und soziologische Themen und steht als Austauschforum allen offen, die sich beteiligen möchten.



_RADIO – ab April 2021


Das SONIC MATTER_radio läuft rund ums Jahr 24 Stunden am Tag. Es begleitet die Aktivitäten von SONIC ZURICH und SONIC WORLD und ist zugleich ein Kunstradio. Neben Live-Streams, Interviews und Musik von SONIC MATTER Akteur*innen präsentiert es spezifisch für das Medium Radio entwickelte künstlerische Arbeiten.



_FESTIVAL – ab 2. Dezember 2021


An verschiedenen Orten in Zürich findet vom 2. bis 5. Dezember 2021 erstmals das SONIC MATTER Festival statt. Es bringt Künstler*innen aus Zürich, der Schweiz und dem internationalen Raum zu Konzerten, Klangparcours, Performances, Ausstellungen, Lounges, Clubnights und Gesprächen zusammen. Die erste Ausgabe von SONIC MATTER veranstalten wir in Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Gastfestival Novas Frequências aus Rio de Janeiro.

  • Wo finde ich das Programm von SONIC MATTER 2021? Ab Herbst 2021 in unserem Newsletter und unter SONIC ZURICH
  • Wo finde ich Informationen zum Gastfestival von SONIC MATTER 2021? SONIC WORLD

Geschichte

SONIC MATTER ist 2020 auf eine Ausschreibung von Stadt Zürich Kultur hin entstanden und wird während seiner Pilotphase bis 2023 durch das Präsidialdepartment mit einem jährlichen Beitrag unterstützt. Es ist das Nachfolgefestival der Tage für Neue Musik Zürich – einer Institution, die 1986 von den Komponisten Thomas Kessler und Gérard Zinsstag gegründet wurde und die städtische Szene während mehr als drei Jahrzehnten mit prägte.